Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead

Sunday 9 October 2022   |   3:00pm
Book Now

London Philharmonic Orchestra

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Part of Sage Classics 2022/23

Sage One

Book Now

Tickets – £19.00 to £45.00

Edward Gardner conductor

Benjamin Grosvenor piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra

Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture
Felix Mendelssohn
Piano Concerto No. 1
Edward Elgar
Enigma Variations

Music is powered by emotion: and when Tchaikovsky read Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet his imagination caught fire. It’s a gloriously passionate opening to this concert from the London Philharmonic Orchestra under its new Principal Conductor Edward Gardner. Elgar positively burned with poetry, imagination and tenderness: all the ingredients of the enchanting musical portraits that make up his Enigma Variations. And in between the superb British pianist Benjamin Grosvenor joins in the fantasy and fireworks of Mendelssohn’s glittering First Piano Concerto.

ℹ️ Useful Information

Concessions are available for:

  • North East First Timers
  • 18-30s
  • 17 & Under and Unemployed (in receipt of benefit)
  • Groups

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult.

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here.

What to expect when you visit us >>


Sunday 9 October 2022

From: £19.00 - £45.00

Sage One