RNS @ Westmorland Hall

Royal Northern Sinfonia


Karin Hendrickson conductor

Kyra Hymphreys violin
Amy Yule Flute
Steven Hudson oboe
Richard Martin trumpet
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Copland Appalachian Spring Suite
Barber Adagio for Strings
Barber Capricorn Concerto
Glass Violin Concerto No.2 ‘The American Four Seasons’

This concert has an American theme and includes Copland’s joyous ‘Appalachian Spring’, Barber’s intense ‘Adagio’ for strings and his quirky ‘Capricorn Concerto’. Completing the programme is the Second Violin Concerto of Philip Glass, ‘The American Four Seasons’ an affectionate tribute to Vivaldi, unusual for its use of a synthesiser within the body of strings and adding a modern touch to the music.

Useful Information

Pre Concert Talk at 6.30pm

Part of the Lakeland Sinfonia concert series