Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20 | RNS at Home

Rachlin's Brahms

with Post-Concert Spotlight Performance



Tickets – £14.00 to £38.00

Julian Rachlin conductor
Alexander Buzlov cello
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Dvořák Cello Concerto
Brahms Symphony No.1

Brahms’ First Symphony opens with the pounding of a broken heart, and ends with the kind of melody that comes once in a lifetime. Forget the image of Brahms as an old man with a big beard: this is the full-blooded music of a young genius, unhappy in love, and under RNS Principal Guest Conductor Julian Rachlin it’ll summon up truly mountainous emotions. Dvořák’s Cello Concerto is – if anything – even more passionate; inspired by Niagara Falls and a long-forgotten romance, it’s a piece that wears its heart unashamedly on its sleeve. Perfect, in other words, for the award-winning Russian cellist Alexander Buzlov.

Useful Information

Part of our RNS at Home series.

Concessions available:

  • Gateshead Residents
  • Bar 5 for 18-30s
  • 17 and Under and Unemployed
  • Groups

Buses available from Alnwick and Hexham.

View our season brochure 2019/20