Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



NICMS: Škampa Quartet



Škampa Quartet

Beethoven Quartet in F, Op.18 No.1
Martinů Quartet No.7 ‘Concerto da Camera’
Borodin Quartet No.2 in D

Long established as one of the most distinguished Czech ensembles, the Škampa Quartet returns with music from their compatriot Martinů and Borodin’s ever-popular work, famed for its wonderfully melodious slow movement.

Newcastle Chamber Music Society is thought to be the oldest of its kind in the country, having its first concert in November 1880, and has presented many illustrious performers including Sergei Rachmaninov, Charles Hallé, Francis Poulenc and Artur Rubinstein.  Our six concert series will include a special Anniversary Concert by the world-renowned Takács Quartet, on Sunday afternoon November 8th.  Come and celebrate with us!

Useful Information

Part of Newcastle International Chamber Music Series 2020/21.

Subscriptions for all six concerts (saving £30 over six individual tickets) are available from the Chamber Music Society’s secretary on 0191 281 6446, e-mail [email protected], or download a form from

Tickets for individual concerts available from Sage Gateshead Box Office from Saturday 13th June.