Classical Season 2019/20 | Small is Beautiful

The Italian Job

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Wolf Italian Serenade
Britten String Quartet No.3
Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence

Maybe it’s a Northern thing, but there’s something unmistakable about the way your spirit starts to dance when you head for the Mediterranean. Hugo Wolf felt it. So did Tchaikovsky, and their musical postcards from Italy begin and end this Italian-themed concert with music of vibrant melody and brilliant sunlight. You can almost smell the basil; but light needs shade, too, and RNS have chosen to contrast all that sunshine with Britten’s haunting final string quartet, inspired by a wintry trip to Venice and filled with mists, reflections and moments of piercing beauty.

Useful Information

Part of our Small is Beautiful series.

View our season brochure 2019/20