Saturday 19 October 2019   |   8:00pm

Classical Season 2019/20 | Small is Beautiful

Brahms' Piano Quintet


Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Part of Classical Season 2019/20 | Small is Beautiful

New Subscription booking opens 10 May from 12 noon

General on sale 15 June from 12 noon

Alasdair Beatson piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Schoenberg arr. Webern Chamber Symphony No.1
C Schumann Three Romances for Violin and Piano
Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor

In the world of chamber music, big emotions can come in small packages. When Brahms originally planned his Piano Quintet, he thought it would turn out to be a symphony – and confined to four string players and a piano, the emotion becomes so potent that it practically pours off the score. Pianist Alasdair Beatson and four Royal Northern Sinfonia musicians perform this pocket-sized epic today – a stirring counterpart to the tender Romances by Brahms’ beloved friend and mentor Clara Schumann. Webern’s extraordinary miniature version of Schoenberg’s ground-breaking Chamber Symphony gets things off to a swirling, intoxicating start.

Useful Information

Part of our Small is Beautiful series.

View our season brochure 2019/20


Saturday 19 October