Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



RNS: Zehetmair plays Mozart

New season_web_7

Part of Sage Classics Spring 2022

Duration – 2 hours (approximately) including an interval


Thomas Zehetmair conductor/violin
Ruth Killius viola
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin
Mozart Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola in E-flat major
Mozart Entr’actes from Thamos, King of Egypt
Saint-Saëns Symphony No.2 in A minor

With Mozart, two’s company, and in his Sinfonia Concertante a violinist and a viola player dance, joke and pour out their very souls. RNS conductor laureate Thomas Zehetmair joins Ruth Killius for a masterpiece like no other, and surrounds it with elegance and emotion. First comes Ravel’s luminous dance suite. And then enjoy the rarely-heard Second Symphony by Camille Saint-Saëns: you’ll wonder why we don’t hear it more often!

ℹ️ Useful Information

📖 Download your FREE concert programme here

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult

Subscribe to Sage Classics Spring and Save

  • Save 10% when you book 6 or 7 concerts

Concessions are available for:

  • North East First Timers
  • 18-30s
  • 17 & Under and Unemployed (in receipt of benefit)
  • Groups

🚌 Catch a coach to this concert from Hexham, Alnwick or Carlisle. Find out more.

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here.

What to expect when you visit us >>

🚧 Construction works near Sage Gateshead

Site preparation works have now commenced on the NewcastleGateshead Quays development, to the east of Sage Gateshead. This means changes to the South Shore Road Car Park, pedestrian and car routes. Find out more.

Thomas Zehetmair

Thomas Zehetmair, conductor

Thomas Zehetmair enjoys enviable international acclaim not only as a violinist, but also as a conductor and chamber musician. He is Chief Conductor of Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, Principal Conductor of the Orchestre National d’Auvergne and Artistic Partner of the Irish Chamber Orchestra.

Zehetmair has appeared as a conductor and violinist with orchestras including Seattle Symphony, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Orchestra of the Eighteenth-Century, Budapest Festival Orchestra and Hamburger Philharmoniker. He was Chief Conductor of Orchestre de Chambre de Paris and Musikkolegium Winterthur, Artistic Partner of St. Paul’s Chamber Orchestra and Music Director of Royal Northern Sinfonia with whom he continues his association as Conductor Laureate.

In the 21-22 season, in addition to his commitments with Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, Orchestre National d’Auvergne, Irish Chamber Orchetra and Royal Northern Sinfonia, his conducting engagements include Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León and a residency as violinist and conductor with the Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra. With the Zehetmair Quartet he will tour Europe including performances at BOZAR, Brussels and Helsinki’s House of Nobility.


Ruth Killius, viola

Ruth Killius’ extraordinary ability to use her instrument to revive the wealth of viola literature from the Classical to the Modern Age is without equal. The versatility of her playing has bestowed her instrument with new meaning. In particular, through her passionate commitment to contemporary music, she has successfully made the viola an essential part of the music of the 21st century.

Ruth Killius, who studied under Ulrich Koch and Kim Kashkashian, expanded the standard repertoire for the viola with the addition of contemporary music. She collaborated in the performance of numerous original premieres e.g. the Brian Ferneyhough String Trio together with members of Geneva’s Ensemble Contrechamps as well as in Elliott Carter’s Oboe Quartet with Heinz Holliger. Holliger wrote his double concerto for violin, viola and a small orchestra, a commission from the Salzburg Festival, for her. The performance of the original premiere of John Casken‘s double concerto That Subtle Knot, dedicated to the duo Thomas Zehetmair and Ruth Killius, together with the Royal Northern Sinfonia attracted widespread attention.

With solo and double concertos, Ruth Killius appeared in Moscow with the Russian National Youth Orchestra, the Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra, in Winterthur with the Musikkollegium and will return to Gateshead with the Royal Northern Sinfonia as well as the Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra.