Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead

Thursday 9 February 2023   |   7:30pm
Book now (external link)

RNS Wind Quintet @ Middlesbrough Town Hall

RNS Wind Quintet

Tickets available from Middlesbrough Town Hall

Musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia

Gustav Holst Wind Quintet
Arthur Bliss Clarinet Quintet
Malcolm Arnold Wind Quintet
Ethel Smyth String Quintet

Join the musicians of Royal Northern Sinfonia for a celebration of English classical music for five players. The woodwind section take the lead in wind quintets by Holst and Arnold, both of which were lost for decades after composition before being found and published. A quartet of strings join them to perform Bliss’ lively Clarinet Quintet before showcasing the lesser-known work of Ethel Smyth, the first female composer to be given a damehood.


Thursday 9 February 2023