RNS @ Westmorland Hall



Julian Rachlin conductor/violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No.2, Op.63 in G minor
Prokofiev Classical Symphony, Op.25
Mozart Symphony No.1, K.16
Mozart Symphony No.41 in C major ‘Jupiter’, K.551

A pair of Prokofievs and a pair of Mozarts make up the programme for this concert. Prokofiev’s ‘Classical’ Symphony (1916) was his first and was written in an almost light-hearted style as he tried to imagine what Haydn might have written in 1916. A sturdy Gavotte replaces the usual Minuet. Mozart wrote his first symphony in London at the age of 8 and his last, the ‘Jupiter’ (41) some 24 years later in 1788. A chance to hear the ‘bookends’ of Mozart’s symphonies side by side.

A violin concerto with castanets? Prokofiev’s second has just that – some unusual colour in the finale of this graceful and melodic work.