Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead

Filmed live at Sage Gateshead on Friday 11 March  


On Demand: RNS and RNS Moves: Sounds of the Sea

New season_web_1

Part of Sage Classics Spring 2022

Part of Livestreamed Concerts

Stream passes are available to purchase until 7.30pm on Sunday 13 March. Watch on demand until midnight on Sunday.

Duration – Approx. 2 hours, including a 20 minute interval


Stream Pass from £8

This concert was broadcast live on Friday 11 March. Purchase a Stream Pass to watch on demand until midnight on Sunday 13 March.

Kyra Humphreys director/violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia
RNS Moves

Mendelssohn The Hebrides: Overture
Takemitsu Toward The Sea II
Joe Cutler Sage Gateshead Commission (world premiere)
Vivaldi La tempesta di mare
Grace Williams Movements from Sea Sketches
Handel Water Music Suite

Mendelssohn braves wild Scottish seas, Vivaldi whips up a storm, and Handel puts a full orchestra on board a rowing boat for the ultimate 18th century pleasure cruise! Here on Tyneside, we’re never far from the sights and sounds of the sea, and tonight Royal Northern Sinfonia and RNS Moves dive straight in, with music that voyages from Takemitsu’s Pacific vistas to Grace Williams’ Welsh coast – and all without getting your feet wet.

RNS Moves is our inclusive ensemble of disabled and non-disabled musicians. Find out more.

Watch Online

Join us live from our iconic Sage One hall as we bring Royal Northern Sinfonia to your home, wherever you are in the world.

Book your Stream Pass (Single Viewer (£8), Pair of Viewers (£12) and Family (£30)) and watch the concert live or on demand for 48 hours after the concert finishes.

ℹ️ Read our tips and advice on how to have the best livestreaming experience.