Sunday 26 April 2020   |   7:30pm

Classical Season 2019/20 | RNS Presents

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

Sakari Oramo conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra

Victoria Borisova-Ollas Open Ground
Bruch Violin Concerto No.1
Sibelius Symphony No.2

There’s something refreshing about the Scandinavian way of making music. Some say that Sibelius’ Second Symphony draws its strength from the rivers and forests of his native Finland. Others hear it as the epic drama of a nation awakening to freedom. But either way, you’ll never hear it played with more conviction than by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra under its Finnish chief conductor Sakari Oramo, on this rare UK tour. What else would you expect from a concert that begins with Victoria Borisova-Ollas’ orchestral earthquake Open Ground, and features the UK’s favourite violinist Nicola Benedetti in the world’s favourite violin concerto?

Useful Information

Part of our RNS Presents series.

Buses available from Alnwick, Hexham, and Carlisle.

View our season brochure 2019/20

Classic FM Recommended By Small Useage Colour RGB


Sunday 26 April

From: £26.00 - £40.00