Friday 20 September 2019   |   7:30pm

Classical Season 2019/20 | Piano Greats

Piano Greats: Lars Vogt

Lars Piano Greats
Book Now

Tickets – £18.00 to £22.00

Lars Vogt piano

Mozart Sonata No.2 K280
Janáček Sonata 1.X.1905 ‘From the Street’
Liszt Ballade No.2 in B minor
Schubert Sonata No.21 D960

‘I believe Schubert knew very precisely that he was dealing with the heart of the matter’ says Lars Vogt – and for him, Schubert’s late music ‘is dealing directly with life and death’. Sage Gateshead audiences don’t need to be told just how profoundly – and how emotionally – Royal Northern Sinfonia’s Music Director approaches the classics, but in this beautifully-conceived recital his performance of Schubert’s majestic last sonata comes as the climax of a sequence of pieces that contrast the life-affirming grace of Mozart with the grand passions of Liszt and the raw, unvarnished feeling of Leos Janáček’s explosive Sonata.

Useful Information

Part of our Piano Greats series

10% off when you book all 4 Piano Greats

View our season brochure 2019/20


Friday 20 September

From: £18.00 - £22.00