Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead

Friday 22 October 2021 | 7:30pm (Also Streamed Live)  


Royal Northern Sinfonia: Mozart's Great!

FD13270 Royal Northern Sinfonia Classical Season_website images_solo 1

Part of Sage Classics Autumn 2021

Sage One

Streaming passes will remain on sale until midnight on the night of the performance. Watch on demand for 48 hours.


Beethoven Coriolan Overture (8 mins)
Schumann Piano Concerto in A minor (31 mins)
Mozart Symphony No.40 (27 mins)

Dinis Sousa conductor
Elisabeth Leonskaja piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Mozart’s music is, of course, great. But that also happens to be the little-known nickname of his Symphony No.40, distinguishing it from another symphony by him in the same key. This symphony is one of his most profound and spiritual. While it is often dark and emotionally intense, it is lightened by sharp contrasts in mood and style, and moments of playfulness. Schumann’s Piano Concerto is one of the most-loved pieces of all classical music. It’s not showy, but it is instead a lyrical, involving dialogue between piano and orchestra, expressing yearning and happiness between two people. Prior to this Beethoven’s powerful and muscular Coriolan Overture starts the evening.

Useful Information

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult

Concessions are available for:

  • North East First Timers
  • 18-30s
  • 17 & Under and Unemployed (in receipt of benefit)
  • Groups

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here.

🚍 Coaches run from Alnwick, Hexham and Carlisle for this concert. Find out more and book here.

📖 View your FREE concert programme

What to expect when you visit us >>

Can’t make the live concert? Streaming passes are available!

Join us from the comfort of your own sofa for the live stream of the concert, which will be streamed as a live experience from our iconic Sage One hall. The live stream will be also be available to watch on demand for 48 hours from midnight on Friday 22 October.

We now have three ticket options for our livestreams: Single Viewer (£8), Pair of Viewers (£15) and Family Viewers (£30). Please select the best option for you. On Sale Friday 17 September at 12noon.

Streaming FAQs

To get the best possible experience, please read our Streaming FAQs, which includes information on how to view the stream on your TV.

Streaming passes now off sale

Subscribe and Save

Book all five RNS concerts and save 10%. Save 15% if you add in the piano recital too.

Book Subscription
RNS Angel

Royal Northern Sinfonia, orchestra of Sage Gateshead, is the UK’s only full-time chamber orchestra. Founded in 1958, RNS has built a worldwide reputation for the North East through the quality of its music-making and the immediacy of the connections the musicians make with audiences.

The orchestra regularly flies the flag for the region at major festivals, including the BBC Proms. They appear frequently at venues and festivals in Europe, including La folle journée in Nantes. In recent seasons they have toured to Vienna, Budapest, Istanbul and Tokyo.