Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20 | RNS at Home

Vogt's Dvořák 7

with Pre-Concert talk at 6.30pm



Tickets – £14.00 to £38.00

Lars Vogt conductor/piano
Anna Reszniak violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Brahms Tragic Overture
Beethoven Romance No.1
Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No.1
Dvořák Symphony No.7

Every music lover knows Dvořák’s symphony ‘from the New World’, but when he wrote his Seventh, he was a lot closer to home – and it shows. Turbulent, passionate and bursting with melody, this is Dvořák at his most heroic, the Czech upstart proudly claiming his place alongside Beethoven and Brahms. So it’s wonderfully appropriate that this concert includes Brahms’s soul-stirring Tragic Overture as well as Beethoven’s Romance. In between,  Lars Vogt takes to the keyboard to perform – and at the same time, direct – Mendelssohn’s brilliant First Piano Concerto. It drove Victorian audiences wild: you’ll hear why

Useful Information

Part of our RNS at Home series

Concessions Available:

  • Gateshead Residents
  • Bar 5 for 18-30s
  • 17 and Under and Unemployed
  • Groups

Buses available from Alnwick, Hexham, and Carlisle

View our season brochure 2019/20

Possible Travel Disruption: The Swing Bridge, which is located a short distance from Sage Gateshead on Bridge Street, is closed from 10pm – 6am. Find out more.