Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20 | RNS at Home

Rachlin's Prokofiev

with Post-Concert Spotlight Performance

Julian Rachlin


Tickets – £14.00 to £38.00

Please note, there has been a change of repertoire since the original publication of the programme. Julian Rachlin has decided to amend the programme of his concerts with RNS in November, due to a connected tour with the orchestra to the Musikverein in Vienna.

Julian Rachlin conductor/violin
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No.2
Prokofiev Classical Symphony
Mozart Divertimento in D, K136
Mozart Symphony No.36 ‘Linz’

Amid the turmoil of the Russian Revolution, the young Prokofiev sat down to imagine the music Mozart or Haydn might have written if they’d been alive in the 20th century. Whip-smart and uproarious, his Classical Symphony is the result – the centre of a concert in which violinist-extraordinaire Julian Rachlin takes a marvellously entertaining tightrope walk between two centuries. Prokofiev’s zingy Second Violin Concerto is every bit as tuneful and irreverent as his symphony, but even that is no match for Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. From the Italian influences of Divertimento K136, written when Mozart was just 16, to Symphony No. 36 ‘Linz’, a masterpiece written in just 4 days, this is a programme that will take you on a journey through the life and times of this great composer.

Useful Information

Part of our RNS at Home series.

Concessions Available:

  • Gateshead Residents
  • Bar 5 for 18-30s
  • 17 and Under and Unemployed
  • Groups

Buses available from Alnwick and Hexham.

View our season brochure 2019/20