Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20 | RNS at Home

Montero plays Tchaikovsky

with Pre-Concert Talk at 6.30pm

Gabriela Montero 2 - credit Anders Brogaard


Tickets – £14.00 to £38.00

Please note, due to unforeseen circumstances Gabriela Montero will not be appearing in this concert, and Frank Dupree will be taking her place.

Alexandre Bloch conductor
Frank Dupree piano
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Grieg Norwegian Dances
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1
Stravinsky Symphony in C

The horns throw down the gauntlet: the piano strides forward to take the challenge. And with one of the greatest melodies in Russian music, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is on its way. Thrilling stuff – it’s no wonder that this is one of the best loved of all romantic masterpieces for piano and orchestra, and played today by the inimitable Gabriela Montero, it should be gripping. Guest conductor Alexandre Bloch sets the scene with the Nordic freshness of Grieg’s irresistibly tuneful Norwegian Dances, and crowns the concert with a bracingly original take on the symphony from the razor-sharp imagination of Igor Stravinsky.

Useful Information

Part of our RNS at Home series.

Concessions available:

  • Gateshead Residents
  • Bar 5 18-30s
  • 17 and Under and Unemployed
  • Groups

Buses available from Alnwick, Hexham, and Carlisle.

View our season brochure 2019/20