Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20 | Piano Greats

Piano Greats: Anna Vinnitskaya

Anna Vinnitskaya


Anna Vinnitskaya piano

Brahms Four Ballades Op.10
Bartók Sonata Sz80
Schumann Novelette in F sharp minor Op.21 No.8
Schumann Arabesque in C major Op.18
Chopin Sonata No.2 in B flat minor Op.35

‘A lioness at the keyboard’ – that’s how one critic described Russian pianist Anna Vinnitskaya. And since she’s concluding her Sage Gateshead recital with Chopin’s darkest and most famous piano sonata, you’ll be able to hear for yourself. Everything about this concert could have been designed to demonstrate the full, remarkable range of a pianist whose artistry is as powerful as it is poetic: Bartók’s peppery Piano Sonata, Schumann’s deeply romantic solo miniatures, and of course, Brahms’ Four Ballades – music as elusive as it is haunting. ‘Music is a path without an end’ says Vinnitskaya: share it with her tonight.

Useful Information

Part of our Piano Greats series.

10% off when you book all 4 Piano Greats.

View our season brochure 2019/20