Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



NICMS: Maxwell Quartet with Huw Watkins (piano)



Maxwell Quartet with Huw Watkins (piano)

Haydn Quartet in G minor Op.74 No.3 ‘Rider’
Schumann Piano Quartet in E flat
Elgar Piano Quintet in A minor

This young Scottish ensemble returns with pianist/composer Huw Watkins for a glorious programme to end our series.  Let’s hope they find time for an encore of one of their haunting arrangements of Scottish fiddle music.

Newcastle Chamber Music Society is thought to be the oldest of its kind in the country, having its first concert in November 1880, and has presented many illustrious performers including Sergei Rachmaninov, Charles Hallé, Francis Poulenc and Artur Rubinstein.  Our six concert series will include a special Anniversary Concert by the world-renowned Takács Quartet, on Sunday afternoon November 8th.  Come and celebrate with us!

Useful Information

Part of Newcastle International Chamber Music Series 2020/21.

Subscriptions for all six concerts (saving £30 over six individual tickets) are available from the Chamber Music Society’s secretary on 0191 281 6446, e-mail [email protected], or download a form from

Tickets for individual concerts available from Sage Gateshead Box Office from Saturday 13th June.