Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Leonskaja plays Schubert


Part of Sage Classics Autumn 2021

Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult

Sage One


Piano Sonata in C minor (32 mins)
Piano Sonata in A (24 mins)
Piano Sonata in B flat (43 mins)

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

We welcome the legendary pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja to Sage Gateshead for an afternoon of Schubert. One of the most celebrated pianists of her generation, she makes a rare appearance in the North East with a programme that includes Schubert’s emotionally expressive last three piano sonatas. Conceived as a set, each sonata has a different, yet complimentary, character. While written in the closing years of the composer’s life they are propulsively energetic and positive, full of life, colour and contrast. They met with critical indifference on their publication but in the 20th Century came to be recognised as the masterpieces that they are, music of huge profundity that rank amongst the greatest pieces ever written for the piano. Unmissable.

ℹ️ Concessions

Concessions are available for:

  • North East First Timers
  • 18-30s
  • 17 & Under and Unemployed (in receipt of benefit)
  • Groups

Find out more about concessions, booking and travel here

📖 View your FREE concert programme

What to expect when you visit us

Subscribe and Save

Book all five RNS concerts and save 10%. Save 15% if you add in the piano recital too.

Book Subscription