Skip to main content

Sage Gateshead



Classical Season 2019/20

Big Beethoven Weekend 2: Dancing Beethoven

Beethoven like you’ve never experienced it before

Dancing Beethoven for website

Weekend tickets £30; Single concert tickets £20 (from 1 October)

Cancelled. Please bear with us during this unprecedented period. We will be in touch in due course about your tickets. Thank you for your patience and co-operation. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.


>> Book Weekend Ticket

Saturday 9 May, 7.30pm

Performance One
(Prelude – skydiving from a dream)

Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge: an epic titan of a piece that was simultaneously lauded and derided in his lifetime. Now, in his 250th anniversary year, virtuosic musicians from innovative string orchestra Scottish Ensemble reunite with Swedish choreographer Örjan Andersson to perform their critically-acclaimed co-production exploring the composer’s complex work, as well as music by Lutosławski and Bach. Musicians and dancers blur their roles and break the rules as they explore the very human paradox at the root of all three pieces: our need to seek out order amongst disorder, and the urge to tear apart our self-imposed rules and restrictions and embrace the adventure of what lies beyond.

Scottish Ensemble and Andersson Dance Prelude – skydiving from a dream

Örjan Andersson choreography
Jonathan Morton musical direction
Örjan Andersson and Tobias Hallgren set and light design
Bente Rolandsdotter costume design

Bach The Art of Fugue (extracts)
Lutosławski Preludes and Fugue for 13 solo strings (extracts)
Beethoven Grosse Fuge

Made possible with support from Creative Scotland, The Swedish Arts Council, Stockholm Stad and Region Stockholm.

Sunday 10 May, 7.30pm

Performance Two

Three dancers, three sonatas, one exceptional pianist, and a presiding genius: Ludwig van Beethoven. 250 years after Beethoven’s birth, and drawing on years of interdisciplinary exploration, choreographer Örjan Andersson has chosen three Beethoven sonatas and illuminated them in new ways through clashes and encounters with the moving human body. Award-winning Swedish pianist Per Tengstrand is in demand across the globe as a soloist, described by The Washington Post as “technically resplendent, powerful, intuitively secure,” and by The New York Times as “a superb pianist.”

Per Tengstrand and Andersson Dance Alae

Per Tengstrand piano
Örjan Andersson choreography
Chrisander Brun set and light design
Bente Rolandsdotter costume design

Beethoven Piano Sonata No.17 ‘Tempest’
Beethoven Piano Sonata No.31 Op.110
Beethoven Piano Sonata No.23 ‘Appassionata’

Booking Information

  • Weekend tickets £30
  • Single concert tickets £20 (from 1 October)

View our season brochure 2019/20