→  Royal Northern Sinfonia  →  Players  →  Kyra Humphreys

Kyra Humphreys

Co-Leader, 1st Violin

Kyra Humphreys Cropped

The Christine Swales Chair

Kyra Humphreys is an accomplished orchestral and chamber musician. She has performed with most of the major UK symphony and chamber orchestras and appeared as guest leader with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House. She has appeared as a soloist in the BBC Proms and performed in music festivals around the world. Her world premiere of John Casken’s ‘Après un Silence’ (orchestral version) was broadcast live on BBCRadio 3 and described as “authoritatively dramatic” by The Times.

As the violinist/violist of the Zanfonia Trio Kyra was a finalist in the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition and the trio performed frequently throughout the UK as award winners in both the Munster and John Tunnell Trust concert scheme competitions.

Since 1998 Kyra has been the Co-Leader of Royal Northern Sinfonia. She has appeared as director and soloist with the orchestra on numerous occasions, performing a wide repertoire. Highlights include several Mozart Concertos, the Barber Violin Concerto and most recently Piazzola’s ‘Four Seasons’ for Violin Solo and Strings. She has also maintained a busy chamber and contemporary music schedule, playing regularly through the year in Royal Northern Sinfonia chamber ensembles.

A Londoner by birth and a Mathematics graduate of Oxford University, Kyra Humphreys lives in Newcastle with her four children.